Love what you do, do what you love

Steve Jobs passed away earlier this week from cancer and was laid to rest October 5 with no plans for a public service. When Jobs stepped down from the CEO position most knew his health took a turn for the worst, without knowing how soon it would come.

People all over the world are talking about how he revolutionized our way of life, how smart he was, and what his products did for them. Yes, his products have impacted the way we live, how we conducted our work, and even changed our down time. But not many knew who he was as a person, and that is because he did a good job staying out of the press when he was not introducing a new product.

Many did not know before he passed that he was adopted, has a Muslim ancestry, and dropped out of college. Most would judge and possibly look down upon someone with that history. Jobs over came the obstacles in his life that many people struggle with today. He had drive and ambition to make his life by doing something that he loved.

Not many people can say they made their life by doing what they love. I hope I can say the same thing when I get older.

I have been working on my journalism career since I was eight years old. Many people would not believe that I have loved it all my life, or how could I know what I wanted to for that long. All because of one teacher, Mrs. Williams, in my elementary school gave me the opportunity and opened the door to learning something new. Since then I have been working to get where I am today. I also concentrated in other classes outside of television: graphic arts, photography, theater and internet programing. Which I found a passion for in each of them, but still ended back to journalism.

I have come across people that didn’t believe in me and I had to work hard to get my opportunities. I will admit that there are people that are better than I am. I will also admit that writing use to be my weakest aspect while in school. I had to work hard on my writing and spelling, even through college. The school system here in Florida never took interest in my lack of writing and spelling skills. They were to busy about the basics and the FCAT. I still work hard at it everyday. I will also admit that, like many other people, I have questioned why I choose this path and worry that I made the wrong decision. But once I step foot into a news studio all those doubts and hard work are at ease, because I feel “at home”. The last thing that I’ll admit is that I work hard with a passion and determination for field.

Steve Jobs was a inspiration to many people around the world. He has changed the very way of life. I hope more people live for what they love and never give up. One day soon I will be just as lucky to work professionally in my career.

Quotes:

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of other’s opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.” – Stanford University commencement speech, 2005

“Do you want to spend the rest of your life selling sugared water or do you want a chance to change the world?” – Steve Jobs’ famous question to John Sculley, former Apple CEO

“First say to yourself what you would be; and then do what you have to do.”-Epictetus

Leave a Reply

